Free article preview  

The pro-Kgalema Motlanthe African National Congress leaders have been purged from the National Executive Committee. That includes Tokyo Sexwale, Mathews Phosa, Fikile Mbalula and leaders from provinces or factions that backed him: Limpopo, North-West, Western Cape, Gauteng and Northern Cape. Provinces opposing President Jacob Zuma will not be represented in the ANC’s highest echelons, creating resentment and opposition to the new party President. Purges in government may come next.

(This article contains approximately 521 words)

end of preview

Subscribers: log in now to read the complete article.

Account Holders: log in now and use your Account Credit to buy this article. No Credit? Top up your Account now.

If you have misplaced your password, click here for a reminder.

Not a subscriber? Then you can read this article in full by becoming a subscriber now, opening an Account and topping up and using your Account Credit, or you can buy this individual article.

  • 1. Subscribe:
  • 2. Use my account:
  • 3. Buy this article:
  • Prices from £867.60
    (including VAT)

    Take out an annual subscription and get access to our archive of more than 16 years of articles from Africa Confidential.

  • 5 articles £60.00
    10 articles £102.00
    20 articles £180.00
    (prices includes VAT)

    Account-holders log in above. If you don’t have an account yet, it only takes a minute to open one.

    Top up and use your Account Credit to read this article.

  • UK & European Union
    (including VAT)
    Rest of the world

  • If you have a print subscription already, click here for a password that gives you full access to the website.
  • If you are logged in, but still cannot access the full text of this article, email customer services or telephone us on +44(0)1638 743633.


Kgalema Motlanthe, Tokyo Sexwale, Mathews Phosa, Fikile Mbalula, Jacob Zuma, Enoch Godongwana, Max Sisulu, Tony Yengeni, Nathi Mthethwa, Derek Hanekom, Julius Malema, Jeff Radebe, Cyril Ramaphosa, Naledi Pandor, Zweli Mkhize, , Ngoako Ramatlhodi, Jessie Duarte, Lindiwe Zulu, Pallo Jordan, Obed Bapela, Ebrahim Ebrahim, Malusi Gigaba, Lindiwe Mazibuko, Sidumo Dlamini, Senzeni Zokwana, Fikile Majola, Sam Mashinini, Zwelinzima Vavi