Jump to navigation

Vol 46 No 6

Published 18th March 2005


They also ran

Five parties are contesting the elections, but only the Zimbabwe African National Union-Patriotic Front and the Movement for Democratic Change have candidates in all 120 seats. The Zimbabwe African National Union (ZANU), formerly led by the late Ndabaningi Sithole, is contesting 15 seats and is sure of one, Chipinge, which it has held since Independence; the current MP is the party leader, Wilson Kumbula. ZANU-PF once fielded the local paramount chief, but he was beaten.

End of preview - This article contains approximately 235 words.

End of preview

Subscribers: Log in now to read the complete article.

Account Holders: Log in now and use your Account Credit to buy this article. No Credit? Top up your Account now.

If you are logged in, but still cannot access the full text of this article, email customer services or telephone us on +44(0)1638 743633.