Jump to navigation


Mathieu Kérékou

Date of Birth: 2 September 1933
Place of Birth: Kouarfa
Died: 14 October 2015

Displaying 1-10 out of 27 results.

The shoo-in is booed off

In 1991 the public rejected the former authoritarian ruler Mathieu Kérékou and in the country once seen as the continent's coup capital Nicéphore Soglo won the first democratic elections...

Zinsou stretches his lead

General (retired) Amoussou has been Armed Forces Chief of Staff and Commander of the United Nations peacekeeping operation in Côte d'Ivoire and is a brother of the former heir-apparent to the late President Mathieu Kérékou PSD leader Bruno Amoussou (AC Vol 43 No 24 The old order please)...

Battle of the bankers

He was Finance Minister under President Mathieu Kérékou before joining the International Monetary Fund as Director of its Africa Department in 2002...

Annivesaries and elections

In Benin President Yayi Boni emerged victorious in the presidential election last March despite ex-President Mathieu Kérékou’s schemes to hold on to power...

Twilight of the chameleon

election budget - persuaded President Mathieu Kérékou's outgoing government not to cancel the ballot...

    Vol 46 No 10 |
  • TOGO

Faure's French friends

Benin's Mathieu Kérékou was constrained by his own people's support for Togo's southern-based opposition...

    Vol 46 No 4 |
  • TOGO

Not a good start

A 9 February summit decided to send a heavyweight mission of five Presidents - new ECOWAS leader President Mamadou Tandja of Niger Olusegun Obasanjo (Nigeria) Amadou Toumani Touré (Mali) John Agyekum Kufuor (Ghana) and Mathieu Kérékou (Benin)...

Where next for the WTO?

Cotton producers have recently become more militant in campaigning against handouts to European and United States' farmers (AC Vol 43 No 20) and Benin's President Mathieu Kérékou went to Brussels on 7-10 September to lobby personally for West African producers...

The old order please

With one eye to politics after President Mathieu Kérékou departs a significant proportion of notables are standing in the country's first communal and municipal elections which after several delays should be held on 15 December...

Displaying 1-10 out of 27 results.